Exposing Social Media Scams and How to Fight Them

Exposing Social Media Scams and How to Fight Them

As revealed by studies, Filipinos are the most social media savvy people in the world.

Because of the Filipinos’ social media obsession, cybercriminals have exploited social media to prey on gullible victims. Most Filipinos are vulnerable and still end up as easy victims.

According to IT security services experts, while social media pages may look safe, Pinoys should always keep in mind that the bad guys are always on the prowl looking for their hit. The rise of scams in social media should be a red flag and must raise awareness among Filipino netizens.

Without further ado, here are some tips to help you recognize or fend off these scams:

Using Messages from Friends

This social media scam looks like a private message (PM) from an FB contact. Truth is, cybercriminals may have already hacked into your friend’s account and have forwarded their credentials to others who may then use it to send spam messages or malware to you and their FB friends.

If you start to have doubts with social media messages from your contacts, alert them as soon as possible that their pages may have been infiltrated (but remember, don’t reply to the message). If you are sent to a different page when you open the message, check the URL of this page. If it is directed to a page different from where you are expecting to go, make your exit quick.

Fake Password Update Requests

In this scam, you may, for example, get an email that is disguised as a typical message from a social media page you’re subscribed to. But, this email will tell you that you need to update your password and will take you to a login prompt to perform the action. Once you click on the prompt, you’ll be directed to a fake webpage that simulates the social media site. Once you enter your user name or password, your information has been phished.

Remember, if the prompt leads you to a webpage that asks you to enter crucial data has an URL that is different from the site you intended to go, chances are this may be a phishing attempt.

Fake “For Adults Only” Videos

This begins by a hacker infiltrating and hacking into several social media accounts. Using the hacked pages, the criminal shares a post with a link that appears to lead to an 18+, NSFW or porn video. Then they’ll tag several contacts from this account. If you go to the page, the video won’t play, and will ask you to download a browser extension to view it. Once installed, this extension will steal your data and the cyber-bad guys will have access to the data you input in the browser— this includes your user name, password or any info you type in the site.

Like what we’ve mentioned above, never click on suspicious links. Also, be vigilant. Never ever install extensions that have no descriptions, ratings or screenshots.

About the Author

Comments are closed.